skip navigation

Jiro Barriga Toyama wins 2020 Goal of the Year award

By Forward Madison FC, 11/16/20, 3:15PM CST


Jiro's last-minute game-winner is our best strike of 2020!

The votes are in... And we have a winner! Jiro Barriga Toyama's game-winning goal against New England Revolution II on October 24 is your TDS Goal of the Year for 2020.

“My teammates told me throughout the season, ‘You’ve got to take a shot,’” Barriga Toyama said after the match, a 2-1 win in FMFC's season finale. “This was the last game, I was like, ‘I’ve got to take a shot,’ and that was a good hit. To be honest, I should have done it sooner.”

Jiro's goal won 72 percent of an online fan vote, beating out Michael Vang's memorable finish against Chattanooga. 

Jiro joins Don Smart, who claimed FMFC's Goal of the Year in 2019, as the club's two winners of the annual competition.

Latest News